"...your articles on the changes to the child support law are very well-written and informative.”
“It’s good to open the door of creative vision to offer a service that may motivate other attorneys to do the same. Keep up the good work.”
"Great set of articles. I was divorced in 2014 with one child and would have certainly considered you had I seen these types of articles then."
"Extremely helpful. I would have never expected such helpful information from a law firm. I guess the times are changing."
In this article, we will explain the penalties a driver under the age of 21 years old faces if he or she is convicted of a DUI in Illinois. We will also provide an explanation of Illinois Zero-Tolerance Policy and the implications it has on underage drivers caught with alcohol in their system while driving.
What is the distinction between a DUI, DWI, adn OWI? Some states may use DWI (driving while intoxicated or driving while impaired) or OWI (Operating While Intoxicated), instead of DUI (driving under the influence), depending on the circumstances surrounding the arrest. However, Illinois does not make this distinction, and only uses the term “Driving Under the Influence.”
Under Illinois law, a DUI offense that results in felony charges is classified as a DUI with aggravated circumstances. There are 11 aggravating factors that can make a DUI a felony in Illinois; one of these factors must be present in a DUI case for the criminal charge to be upgraded to a felony.
In this article, we will explain whether a DUI arrest is charged as a felony or misdemeanor in Illinois. In short, a DUI in Illinois can be charged as either a misdemeanor or a felony depending on the circumstances surrounding the arrest. To go into further detail, we will discuss when a DUI is a misdemeanor and when a DUI is a felony, aggravating factors that lead to additional penalties for DUI, the Illinois summary suspension process, and DUIs under age 21.
In this article, we will review the penalties for receiving a DUI (Driving Under the Influence) in the state of Illinois.
In this article, we will explain the difference between a DUI charge and an aggravated DUI, what factors lead to an aggravated DUI, and the penalties for different types of aggravated DUIs. For some foundational information you can click here to learn more about Illinois DUI Law generally: Illinois DUI Law Explained; and check out our article on What to Do if You Are Pulled Over for a DUI in Illinois.
If you are pulled over under suspicion of a DUI, it is important to know your rights and the ramifications of your actions. The purpose of this article is to assist you in making decisions that will put you in the best possible position in the event of a DUI.
Penalties For First-Offense DUIS
The Illinois Vehicle Code (623 ILCS 5/1-100, et seq.) requires the Illinois Secretary of State to revoke the driver’s license of anyone convicted of a DUI for a minimum of one year.
First-offense DUIs are a Class A misdemeanor for which punishment can be imprisonment for up to 364 days or a fine up to $2,500.00. In addition, if you are convicted of a DUI or receive a summary license suspension, your insurance company is likely to cancel your insurance policy, and your future insurance rates will be significantly increased.
You can read about statutory summary suspension as well as what happens if this is not your first offense here: