In 2016, there have been several major changes to Illinois divorce law, which are designed to bring the law into alignment with the realities of modern co-parenting arrangements and to soften the blow of divorces. More changes are on the way in 2017 as well. You can read our article about changes to Illinois child support laws for 2017 here.
Prior to 2016 there were (11) grounds for dissolution of marriage in Illinois:
As of 2016, the only grounds for divorce is irreconcilable differences. Prior to 2016 the required period to live separate and apart would vary based on the grounds for divorce. Now, as long as the parties agree to waive this waiting period, the spouses are not required to live separate and apart prior to filing for divorce. If the parties cannot agree to waive the waiting period, they are required to live separate and apart for 6 months prior to filing for divorce.
Prior to 2016, the parties were defined as a "custodial parent" or "non-custodial parent," and the "non-custodial parent" was allotted "visitation rights." The terms "custody" and "visitation" have been done away with and replaced with "allocation of parenting time and responsibility." The intention is to soften the blow for the parent who would have previously been labeled as "non-custodial" and to reduce disputes over custody.
In addition, parenting responsibility is divided into four categories: medical, education, religious, and extra-curricular. The responsibility for making decisions regarding each of these separate categories will be divided among the parents either by agreement or by order of the court.
Prior to 2016 the custodial parent could move anywhere within the state of Illinois without approval from the court, but a move out of state would require court approval, regardless of the actual change in distance. As of 2016, a court order is required for moves of more than 25 miles. Moves within 25 miles are permitted without court approval, even if they are out of state. If the party seeking to relocate lives outside the Chicago metropolitan area, he or she is permitted to move 50 miles within Illinois without a court order.